Happy Trails

23 Nov

Here’s the band that made us all want to learn guitar back in about 1983: Van Halen. Not Van Hagar. And their infinitely memorable acapella rendition of the old Dale Evans classic, ‘Happy Trails.’

It’s not a great video. But do listen to the whole thing…

It’s been fun, ladies and gentlemen. But now it’s time to say ‘good-bye.’

This is the last time that I’ll post, here at Tales From the Hood.

I’ll keep the site up and the comments threads open, at least for now. I will also keep my Gmail account open (I promise to read, but not necessarily respond to every message) and my twitter account active.

It has truly been my pleasure to write for you all for the past several years. Some of you are close friends with whom I look forward to remaining in contact.

The rest of you may see me around the aid blogosphere as a guest blogger from time to time. Or maybe in a life-saving coordination meeting or expat party in a disaster zone near you…

Happy Trails!

36 Responses to “Happy Trails”

  1. freyajane 23 November, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    Wait…what? No!
    I only just found you!

  2. Anonymous 23 November, 2011 at 1:22 am #

    Yes..I concur, you have become a valid part of my rationale, I cut and pasted your wise words into the Global Citizenship programs and based validation of student run projects on their meeting the sort of criteria you promote as valuable. I based my questions to students around your questions to the global aid community.

    You have been a great, albiet anonymous mentor and I thank you for your valuable contribution,

    Kayti

  3. gianluigi 23 November, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    That is too bad and too sad. i appreciated *very* much your thoughts and contribution ; i found them deep, refreshing, intelligent and consistent. i liked the – sometimes provoking – style too. To me, they are like a ‘treasure/gift’ and for that i would like to thank you very much.

    All the best to you.

    gianluigi

  4. gianluigi 23 November, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    forgot to ask: what’s your gmail account? i thought you could give me your view re a specific project. thank you in advance. gl.

    • J. 23 November, 2011 at 10:24 am #

      talesfromethehood@gmail….. (see also the “About” tab above :) )

  5. Serena M 23 November, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    No this can’t be! Please don’t go!

  6. Cynan 23 November, 2011 at 4:12 am #

    For the perspective, the reflection, the ranting: thanks.

  7. qwert 23 November, 2011 at 4:20 am #

    That is really, really, really, really unfortunate. You will be missed.

  8. maria 23 November, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    J, you’re leaving?

    no…! don’t…:-( please….

    and Disastrous Passion? you leave it there?

    you don’t feel like communicating anymore? why?

  9. angelica 23 November, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    why? :-(

  10. How Matters (@intldogooder) 23 November, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    J – you were the first to welcome me to the aid blogosphere. Let me be one of the first to say thanks for your contribution to it over the years. Your authentic voice helped set the bar and it will be missed indeed – all the best to you!

  11. RPC 23 November, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Happy trails J. It has been a good ride. Until we meet again…..

  12. Sean 23 November, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Noooooooo….!
    Seriously, thanks for your incredible writing. We’re all going to miss you. If you ever take up anonymous, profoundly-fantastic aid blogging again, we’ll be around!

  13. James BonTempo 23 November, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Diver Down: classic. Best of luck wherever you’re headed…

  14. Anonymous 23 November, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Tired of people abandoning blogging for Twitter. 140 chars are not enough! :-(

  15. gypsysoul 23 November, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy? I just found you. and it’s the most honest, raw, biting TRUTH-SHEDDING blog I’ve ever read. Why?

  16. gypsysoul 23 November, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I should follow that by saying Thank You. Merci. Mesi.

  17. Pablo 23 November, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Happy trails to you!! All the best…

  18. Anonymous 23 November, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    The end of an era! It’s never been dull. Looking forward to your guest posts.

  19. Sleepy Lewis 23 November, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Sorry to see you go! You’ve been an education. Good luck doing whatever comes next!

  20. Bravo Detla 23 November, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    There’s always a dread-pirate Roberts waiting in the wings…. One’s just sharpening his blade as we speak. Thanks and safe travels…..beyond the hood.

  21. Stephen Jones 24 November, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Thanks for the honesty, insights – and the positive messages within the ranting too. Hope that you do have the time to be a special guest on other blogs in future.

  22. JP 25 November, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    I have to say, that’s really disappointing. Reading your rants were part of my coffee breaks and the insights led to some great discussions amongst my co-workers. Best of luck in the real world, I hope you’ll come back to the blogosphere before too long.

  23. solemu 25 November, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    OMG! This is the worst news ever. I just hope there’s a good reason behind, like keeping your anonymity and freedom of speech intact. I hope to read you soon, really soon, again. It’s been a pleasure to read you since I’ve discovered you this January. A whole year of lovely ranting, honest and deep reflection on what aid should look like. It’s been an oasis in the desert. Thanks for that and for your superb writing. Hope to meet you in a tweet up one day!

  24. jytc 27 November, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    I truly have loved reading your posts – from the educational pieces, to the rants, to the satires. I felt like you gave me insight into the AIDE world that few people get to see. Thank you, I have learned a lot, and talked about your blog often, to the chagrin of my family and friends!

    If it is possible, could you maybe post links to your guest posts here?

    And remember, you can always take the Cher path, and have many farewell performances – we’ll be here waiting!

  25. Timo Luege 27 November, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    I’ve been following your blog for a couple of years and and truly appreciated what you have written here. I appreciated your analysis and the experiences you shared with us. I hope that you will change your mind since I think your voice is an important one.

  26. Texas in Africa 28 November, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Son of a bitch. You, too? Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

  27. vivmcwaters 28 November, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Echoing others: noooooooooooo…. You are truly an amazingly talented writer, and I admire and respect your knowledge and work in aid, and your willingness to share what must sometimes be difficult topics. I’m hoping our paths will cross again one day and I can buy you a beer or three.

  28. Katherine Lucey aka Solar Sister 28 November, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    Dear J,
    I will miss your wisdom, your snark, your insights, your beautiful writing. Wow. I didn’t see this coming and I am really sad that you are leaving the Hood. Please let it be because your are now devoting your time to writing an amazing book that I can look forward to reading. I picture you at the typewriter, with a home brew at hand plunking away at the Great AidWorker Novel.

  29. terence 29 November, 2011 at 1:48 am #

    Hi J,

    Really, really sorry to see you go. But thank you for all the excellent posts over the years!

    Terence

  30. AGBict4d 5 December, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Could we make you consider to keep it running? Even if it’s only for bi-monthly posts or to repost your entries from the blogs you appear as a guest? Best

  31. Sharon Lipinski (@SharonGives) 6 December, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    You’ve been an amazing resource, and without a doubt, you’re writings here have done a lot of good in the world. Whatever adventure and effort you lend your efforts to next are going to be amazing. Best wishes!

  32. Anonymous 6 December, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    I echo the sorrow that most other commenters gave above! I’m very sad that you have said good-bye, I’ve enjoyed your blog so much and have referred it to many folks over the past few years! You have left a hole in the aid blogosphere, that’s for sure! All the best to you and the fam!

  33. Elisabeth F 6 December, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    these are no good news, unfortunately I’ve discovered your blog only some months ago, really sorry you leave

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The year ahead | Good Intentions Are Not Enough - 20 December, 2011

    [...] J. from Tales from the Hood It’s been fun, ladies and gentlemen. But now it’s time to say ‘good-bye.’ [...]

Pearls of wisdom

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 684 other followers

