1.5 of 3: Required Reading

16 Dec

Parts 2 and 3 are coming soon.

Here’s is screenshot of the status update and following comments of one of my Facebook friends from earlier this week. This is someone I’ve been acquainted with since high school. I also am acquainted with most of the people commenting. Although I’m not particularly close to any, I would describe them all as well-educated, professional people, realitively aware of the world in which they live. Several of them have lived and/or traveled abroad, either as volunteers of one kind or another or as students.

Check it out:

I do not share this in order to demean or make fun of anyone, or even to make the point that I or “we” (including all of you, gentle readers) are the chosen illuminati, and everyone else but clueless morons.

Rather, I share it as one example of where orinary, respectable citizens are in their thinking and attitubes about “helping the poor.”

These people represent our Third Audience.

We very clearly have our work cut out for us.

3 Responses to “1.5 of 3: Required Reading”

  1. anti-anti 16 December, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    Hi!

    I was referred to this post by a reader of my blog, and it looks like we posted about exactly the same thing (sort of!) on the same day. Great minds think alike, yes?

    Check out our blog! http://abortioneers.blogspot.com/

    Thanks,
    AA

  2. anonymous 16 December, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    yep. was at a meeting of intelligent people tonight and mentioned I worked at a non-profit. was responded to with a “wonderful” story a friend who started an orphanage in Kenya to help the children and raise awareness about their plight. didn’t know what to say aside from “oh that’s great.”

  3. C. 19 December, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    a conversation I had once.

    him: why did you give that homeless guy money, he’s only going to spend it on booze and drugs.

    me: but that what *we’re* going to spend our money on this weekend.

    him: umm.

Pearls of wisdom

