Corporate Social Responsibility: Aid Blog Forum wrap-up

29 Sep

I’d like to give a very big ‘Thank You’ to everyone who participated in the first Aid Blog Forum on ‘Corporate Social Responsibility’: THANK YOU!

In all there were twenty-six posts – twenty-five to begin with, and then a late addition by MJ over at Bottom Up Thinking that I took the liberty of adding manually even though The Forum had formally closed.

I won’t try to sum up all of the posts in The Forum – I’d much rather have you all read them for yourselves (here). But I will say that I thought they were all good, solid thinking on the subject of Corporate Social Responsible (CSR). A big THANK YOU to all who took the time to write and enter posts into The Forum!

The majority of participants were personal/individual bloggers, but I was very pleased to have two branded-NGO blogs participate (Actionaid UK and Stratosphere Int’l), as well as a post by the VP of Products at Freebalance.

I’ll admit that I was a teeny tiny bit disappointed at the general agreement between most of the posts. I’d hoped for a little more debate and opinion in favor of CSR, and more to the point I’d hoped for a wee bit more on what to do moving forward: As I’ve written now several times on Tales From the Hood, CSR is a reality of the world we’re in now. It’s not going away. How do we engage meaningfully and ethically moving forward? Where should humanitarians and NGOs draw the demarcation lines? These are the basic questions that I continue to struggle with.

But again, still solid thinking from everyone, and once again: THANK YOU for participating!

The Forum is now closed but will remain visible here. Everyone, please continue to think and blog about Corporate Social Responsibility. If you want, you can always add the link to your post in the comments thread below this post.

I’ll take a couple of weeks to blog about other things, and then announce a new Aid Blog Forum topic. I haven’t chosen it yet, so if you have a suggestion to make feel free to tweet me, add your thoughts to my Facebook wall, or comment in the thread on this post.

Until the next Aid Blog Forum, take care and I hope to see you soon!

3 Responses to “Corporate Social Responsibility: Aid Blog Forum wrap-up”

  1. Anonymous 4 October, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    I know I’m late on the CSR train but I just stumbled across a new project and felt I had to share. The American Enterprise Institute has started “Values and Capitalism” and I found it quite interesting that they are linking aid blogs to make their compassionate capitalism points
    http://www.valuesandcapitalism.com/dialogue/global-affairs/toms-shoes-vs-whole-foods

  2. Jessica 22 October, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    J – just so you know, I read/speak both Portuguese and French. If you ever need a Forum post in either of these two languages summarized, just let me know.

  3. Business Responsibility 19 May, 2014 at 9:55 am #

    Great post! Been reading a lot about corporate responsibility. Thanks for the info here!

Pearls of wisdom

