All I Wanna Do

16 Nov

This post is no longer available on this blog.

This post is now part of J.’s book, Letters Left Unsent, available on Amazon.

 

2 Responses to “All I Wanna Do”

  1. jenny 17 November, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    Thank you for this all too true post. Being a good citizen, leading by example goes a long way. It starts with me. I am not an aid worker, nor will I ever be. But I want to change the world for the better and though I already thought I need to start with myself, your post confirms that it is so. Thank you for being honest. /Jenny http://www.dreamersbehinddesks.com

  2. xanskinner 17 February, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    Found your blog by looking at google results for the song All I wanna do … but I so agree with you! Yeah, sometimes I just wanna have fun. Sure, we could certainly say that just as it’s probably not enough for a severely obese person just to give up their twinkies if they want to be a reasonable weight, it’s also probably not enough for the average American to appease their conscience just by “recycling”. In the real world, we also need to do a whole lot of reducing and reusing, and a whole lot of other stuff. On the other hand, if we always took ourselves so seriously as that, we’d just die. Or at least, we’d be a pariah. Lemme use a piece of aluminum foil now and then without re-washing it, dammit! We’ve gotta operate within our culture, out there on Santa Monica Blvd, slowly enjoying the lingering death that comes from the early morning beer buzz lifestyle.

Pearls of wisdom

